The BEST of Summertime in Lake Tahoe

waters-tahoe-vacation--1I am currently on vacation in my other favorite place in the world and place I formerly called home, Maui Hawaii, I can’t help but think of summertime.  As I am here playing in the surf, soaking in the rays and visiting with my Maui ohana of friends and wish for vacation not to ever end, I remind myself that everything will be ok.  Because, I am returning to home to Lake Tahoe at the beginning of summertime, my favorite time of year there.

Lake Tahoe in the summertime is an incredibly special time during the summer months. A place I feel so special to be for the season that I refuse to leave at anytime for any reason in fear of missing a day there to play.   It also got me thinking about why Lake Tahoe is the best place to travel to in the summertime and I wanted to share my list of reasons with you here.

Best Reasons to Visit Lake Tahoe in the Summertime:

The Lake – Obviously, this is the main attraction.  The clear, crisp blue waters of Lake Tahoe are the cornerstone of all summer activities including boating, trips to the beautiful beaches and my favorites – SUP and kayak along the coastline to hidden coves.

The Mountains – When you aren’t on the Lake, you’re hitting the mountains.  The Sierra Nevada mountain ranges surrounding the Lake provide the ultimate playground for all of your adventures including golfing, cycling, rafting and especially miles and miles of mountain biking and hiking.

The Beaches – Lake Tahoe’s 72-miles of coastline is scattered with beautiful sandy and rocky beaches.  A few of my favorites you can’t miss are: Sand Harbor State Park, Hidden Beach, Zephyr Cove, Emerald Bay, D.L. Bliss State Park and Sugar Pine Point.

The Temperature – It’s no secret, we have the best temperature in Lake Tahoe in the summertime.  With NO HUMMIDITY, bright blue bird cloudless days, consistent 70’s temperatures and cool evenings, the weather in Lake Tahoe is perfect for any and all summertime activity.

The Sunsets – Lake Tahoe offers some of the most spectacular sunsets I have ever seen with its alpine glow, clear skies and mountain range silhouette backdrop, perfect for every evening sunset spectating.

The Smells – Anyone who has visited Lake Tahoe in the summertime will state this accolade.  Lake Tahoe has the most amazing smell in the summertime.  It is a mixture of fresh pine trees, crisp cool air and occasionally a lingering BBQ in the distance.

The Evenings – I LOVE the long days in Lake Tahoe during the summertime.  It’s almost like the world knows we need longer days in order to squeeze in all of the jam packed activities we have planned.  It doesn’t get dark in Lake Tahoe during the evenings until 9pm. It is amazing.

The Events – Summer is FULL of fun activities of all sorts throughout Lake Tahoe with so many things to choose from including outdoor weekly concerts, farmer’s markets, Truckee Thursdays, Shakespeare Festival performances, holiday parades, fireworks, races and community events and more!

The Traditions – When people ask me to describe Lake Tahoe in the summertime, I often say it is reminiscent of quintessential American summertime traditions.  Everywhere you turn it is full of families celebrating pastimes and traditions whether its playing cards at the beach, enjoying secret family BBQ recipes and drinking games all while reuniting at the same rental cabin year after year.

The People – Whether its the locals, first time visitors or returning neighbors and family friends, you are guaranteed to be amongst amazing company, and likely to make some new friends, as visitors flock to the mountains and lake, year after year to reunite amongst this beautiful backdrop

I hope you have enjoyed learning a bit more about what is to come in Lake Tahoe over the following months. I hope to see you this summer around the Lake!

If you enjoying learning about Lake Tahoe follow my blog and me at @robinpenning to receive information on tips, news, activities and special events in Lake Tahoe.

Photo Credit 1

2 thoughts on “The BEST of Summertime in Lake Tahoe

Leave a Reply

